"Prague Monuments" Archive:

Pha1 - Spanelska synagoga a Zidovske muzeum005

8. 4. 2017

Jewish Museum in Prague – description

Jewish Museum(czech: Židovské muzeum) in Prague currently administrates the world´s most extensive collections of objects with the Jewish matter. This primacy particularly belongs to the museum based on more than forty thousand of collection objects and hundreds of thousands books. The museum provides complete information mapping out the life, customs and traditions of the Jewish population in the territory of our country. » More »


8. 4. 2017

Church of St. Nicholas – basic information

The facade of the Church of St. Nicholas is one of the landmarks of the Old Town Square in Prague. The history of the Baroque church is very rich and we want to introduce it to you now. We will also take you inside where you can admire the original decorations. At present, the church is popular not just because of the services but also due to regular musical concerts. » More »

Pha1 - kostel sv. Mikuláše_web007

7. 4. 2017

The Church of St Nicholas was originally a Gothic building

The Church of St Nicholas was originally a Gothic building and served as the parish church of the Old Town before the Týn Church was built. Following the Battle of the White Mountain in 1620, and during the Counter-Reformation in the Czech lands,the church was taken over by Benedictine monks. In 1732 – 1735 it was then rebuilt in the baroque style by Kilián Ignác Dientzenhofer. » More »

7. 4. 2017

The House of the Black Madonna

We will visit the area of the Old Town in this article, this time the place between Celetná street and the Fruit Market where one of the most significant Czech Cubist architectural works is to be found. » More »

Prague, Old Town Square, Old Town Astronomical Clock

7. 4. 2017

Old Town Astronomical Clock (Orloj) – the history

One of the most mysterious places in Prague which daily attracts thousands of tourists is the Astronomical Clock of the Old Town Hall. What makes the astronomical clock so special? Why do the observers after they see the small performance of the apostles and after the sodger shakes his sack start to clap their hands happily? Is the astronomical clock a common clockwork or is there something more about it? Let´s discover it and learn about its history now. » More »

Pha1 - Dum u kamenneho zvonu101026_051

7. 4. 2017

House at the Stone Bell – basic information

Legends, interesting facts and unique archeologic discoveries. All of that and many more attractions are to be found behind the walls of the House At the Stone Bell in Staroměstské náměstí. Let´s explore the circumstances due to which St.Ludmila or Elisabeth of Premyslide and her son Charles IV were staying here.

» More »

Pha1 - Staroměstská radnice_web001

7. 4. 2017

The Old Town Hall was founded in 1338

The Old Town Hall (Staroměstská radnice) was founded in 1338. It is comprised of 5 individual houses which were gradually joined together into one building.The dominating feature of the Old Town Hall is its 69.5m high tower dating from the late 14th century, with an ornate oriel window, part of the chapel, on the eastern side. » More »

PHA-Dům u Černé Matky Boží02

6. 4. 2017

THE BLACK MADONNA HOUSE – Museum of Czech cubism

ikona_disabled22The Black Madonna House of is situated at the corner of Celetná Street and Ovocný trh. It was built in 1911 – 1912 by the architect Josef Gočár in the cubist style. With some exceptions, cubist architecture is specific to the Czech lands and this building is one of the best examples. » More »

PHA-Obecni dum

6. 4. 2017

The Powder Tower is the gateway to the Old Town

The Powder Tower is the gateway to the Old Town. It replaced a Přemyslid dynasty era gate in 1475 and was built in the Gothic style by Matěj Rejsek as a gift from the Old Town to King Vladislav Jagiellon. » More »

Pha1 - Bazilika sv. Jakuba110527_010

6. 4. 2017

The Church of St. Jacob was originally part of a Minorite Monastery and dates from the 13th century.

The Church of st. James was originally part of a Minorite Monastery and dates from the 13th century. In 1311 a feast to mark the coronation of King John of Luxemburg and Eliška Přemyslovna was held here. » More »